“My hair hurts.”

30 Sep

Apologies for the unplanned hiatus. Between work and travel, I haven’t had time to write, let alone date!

I’ve also needed a break from this circus; too many bad dates can really take an emotional toll. Even when I can laugh them off, an increasing part of my subconscious wants to yell “I’ve been dating since I was fifteen! I’m exhausted! Where IS he?” and bury my head in my arms, a la Charlotte York.

Recently at a cousin’s graduation party, the family was trying to figure out whose graduation would gather the family next. My 14 year old cousin piped up, “No, Heather’s wedding will be next.” Every head in my large extended family turned, silent for the first time all weekend, and just looked at her.

“Why will Heather get married next? Why not Mia?” one aunt asked.

“Heather’s trying harder,” my cousin replied with a shrug.

Lovely.

Part of me just wants to be done with this whole process: the brief excitement, the awkward conversations and the laugh-out-loud, schadenfreude-inspiring terrible dates, peppered with the occasional decent one. I realize that scientifically speaking, “trying harder” isn’t going to get me anywhere anyway. According to Einstein, insanity is as doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.

Then again, Einstein might have been wrong about physics, so maybe he’s not the best person for dating advice anyway.

More dates to come soon.

Leave a Reply

